ARCS, Book Reviews, Fantasy

ARC Review: Shenanigans

Shenanigans is the newest installment in the “Tales of Valdemar” Anthology Series, and consists mostly of lighthearted and funny. Perfect if you need a break from more serious reads.

Thank you to DAW books and Netgalley for the e-arc of this new short story collection. Shenanigans is out now.

Goodreads Rating: 4.17

My Rating: 4 Stars

Spoiler-free Summary:

This sixteenth anthology of short stories set in the beloved Valdemar universe features tales by debut and established authors and a brand-new story from Lackey herself.

The Heralds of Valdemar are the kingdom’s ancient order of protectors. They are drawn from all across the land, from all walks of life, and at all ages–and all are Gifted with abilities beyond those of normal men and women. They are Mindspeakers, FarSeers, Empaths, ForeSeers, Firestarters, FarSpeakers, and more. These inborn talents–combined with training as emissaries, spies, judges, diplomats, scouts, counselors, warriors, and more–make them indispensable to their monarch and realm. Sought and Chosen by mysterious horse-like Companions, they are bonded for life to these telepathic, enigmatic creatures. The Heralds of Valdemar and their Companions ride circuit throughout the kingdom, protecting the peace and, when necessary, defending their land and monarch.

My Thoughts:

I was especially excited for this collection, since it contains a brand new short story by Mercedes Lackey, in addition to all the other talented authors featured in the collection.

As the title of the collection implies – expect stories full of fun, mischief, and more than a few pranks. I thought that the lighter tone of these stories was refreshing and a much needed change of pace. One of the things I like about The Tales of Valdemar series, and this installment in particular, is the fact that it gives readers a bit of “a slice of life” set in a beloved fantasy world. These stories give readers the chance to see other sides of characters, and read about people and events that they would not get to see if they were only to read the main Valdemar novels.

It’s hard to pick a favourite story in the collection – I really enjoyed “Fowl Play” by Fiona Patton and “Pranks for the Memories” by Dee Shull.

There is something in this short story collection for everyone. If you’re a long-time Valdemar fan, then you’ll be reunited with some familiar characters. However, if, on the other hand, you’re a brand new visitor to Valdemar, then this anthology will give you a fun introduction to the world and characters.

Shenanigans was full of whimsy, magic, and fun, and was a strong addition to the Tales of Valdemar short story series.

Happy Reading!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s