ARCS, Book Reviews, Fantasy, Young Adult

ARC Review: Sisters of Shadow

I was very happy to receive an e-ARC of Sisters of Shadow by Katherine Livesey from Netgalley and Harper Collins UK, One More Chapter, in exchange for an honest review. The book is out today: September 30, 2021.

Book Info:

Title: Sisters of Shadow

Author: Katherine Livesey

Genre: Fantasy

Publication Date: September 30, 2021

Length: 400 Pages

Goodreads Rating: 3.15

My Rating: 3/5

Goodreads Synopsis:

All she knew was vengeance…
Alice has lived in the forest on the fringes of Alder Vale ever since her parents abandoned her. Alone, exiled, feared by all. All except Lily.

But something is stirring beyond the mountains, whispers of spectres stalking the moors, women of unfathomable power luring children into a cult that has haunted local lore for a generation.

Then, in the dead of night, Alice receives a letter promising answers to the questions that have always tormented her. And so she meets Grace. The red-cloaked cultist pledged to protect her, a scarred warrior born of storm and sea, the girl who will steal her heart.

Anne of Green Gables meets His Dark Materials in this whimsical fantasy adventure following the unlikely alliance between an apothecary, a witch, a warrior, and a witch-hunter. Perfect for fans of Garth Nix, Natasha Ngan, and Diana Wynne Jones.

My Thoughts:

Overall, I think that this was a strong debut novel. It has so many things that I am drawn to when I read a book: witches, apothecaries, sisterly-bonds, coming of age quests, and of course a dash of romance. The setting of the book really drew me in, I was hooked from the first pages where we see Alice in her woodland cottage and she discovers a mysterious letter.

I liked both Alice and Lily, and I enjoyed that they were opposites, and best friends all the same. I especially liked how Lily was able to see Alice in a way that others couldn’t. I also enjoyed other characters in the book. Particularly Grace – and her budding romance with Alice was refreshing and a highlight of the book for me.

I did find myself wanting a bit more from the world-building – it was intriguing, but I found myself feeling like I was just skimming the surface when I wanted to be immersed deeper into the world. However, I am sure the world-building will be expanded on in the next book. Also, sometimes the pacing of the book felt a bit off. However, that could have just been me.

I enjoyed this book and accompanying Alice and Lily on their journeys. I look forward to see where the story will go in the next book. Thank you again to NetGalley, and Harper Collins UK, One More Chapter for the e-ARC copy of this book.

Is this book on your TBR?

Happy Reading!

Liss

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s